The Corporation of the Township of Brock

Special Council Meeting Minutes

Electronically

Session Ten

Tuesday, June 16, 2020

The Tenth Meeting of the Council of the Township of Brock, in the Regional Municipality of Durham, was held on Tuesday, June 16, 2020, electronically.

Members present: Mayor: Debbie Bath-Hadden

Regional Councillor: W.E. Ted Smith Councillors: Michael Jubb

Claire Doble Walter Schummer Cria Pettingill Lynn Campbell

Staff members: Municipal Clerk Becky Jamieson

(recording the minutes)
Deputy Clerk Deena Hunt

1. Call to Order and Moment of Silence

Mayor Bath-Hadden called the meeting to order at 9:17 a.m. She extended condolences to the Director of Public Works and his family in the loss of his father.

2. Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest and Nature Thereof

None

3. Delegations

None

4. Consideration of Business for which Notice was Given

(a) Staff Report

Becky Jamieson, Report: 2020-CO-21, BROCK-RFP No. 2020-01 – Organizational Review

The Clerk provided a summary of the actions taken to date with respect to the Request for Proposal for an Organizational Review. She advised that the company recommended within the report has advised that they would optimize resources based on the Township's budget for this review inclusive of multiple interviews and stakeholder engagements.

There was discussion with respect to the funding received from the Province for this initiative.

Resolution Number 1-10

MOVED by <u>Claire Doble</u> and SECONDED by <u>Lynn Campbell</u> THAT Report: 2020-CO-21 be received and further, that Council award the Organizational Review RFP to Performance Concepts Consulting.

MOTION CARRIED

(b) Closed Session

Resolution Number 2-10

MOVED by <u>W.E. Ted Smith</u> and SECONDED by <u>Lynn Campbell</u> THAT Council move in camera at 9:30 a.m. pursuant to Section 239(2)(b) of the Municipal Act,

This document is available in alternate formats upon request. Please contact the Clerk's Department at 705-432-2355

2001, to discuss to discuss personnel matters about an identifiable individual, including municipal employees.

MOTION CARRIED

(1) Personnel Matter

Pursuant to Section 239(2)(b) of the Municipal Act, 2001, to discuss personnel matters about an identifiable individual, including municipal employees

Resolution Number 3-10

MOVED by <u>W.E. Ted Smith</u> and SECONDED by <u>Michael Jubb</u> that we rise from in camera at 10:40 a.m.

MOTION CARRIED

Resolution Number 4-10

MOVED by <u>Cria Pettingill</u> and SECONDED by <u>Walter Schummer</u> that the directions of Council given in closed session be adopted.

MOTION CARRIED

Resolution Number 5-10

MOVED by <u>Claire Doble</u> and SECONDED by <u>Lynn Campbell</u> that Council appoint Ralph Walton as an Acting CAO for the Township of Brock and that the by-law be brought forward to appoint him.

MOTION CARRIED

(c) By-laws

(1) <u>By-Law Number 2954-2020</u> – being a By-law to appoint a Chief Administrative Officer for the Corporation of the Township of Brock pursuant to Section 228(2) and Section 229 of the Municipal Act, S.O. 2001, as amended

Resolution Number 6-10

By-law Number 2954-2020 – being a By-law to appoint a Chief Administrative Officer for the Corporation of the Township of Brock pursuant to Section 228(2) and Section 229 of the Municipal Act, S.O. 2001, as amended, was read a first, second and third time and passed in open Council. The Mayor and Clerk were authorized to sign the by-law on behalf of the municipality and to have same engrossed in the by-law book.

5. Public Questions

Suspended until further notice.

6. Confirmation By-law

<u>By-law Number 2953-2020</u> – to confirm the proceedings of the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Brock at its meeting held on June 16, 2020

Resolution Number 7-10

By-law Number 2953-2020 – to confirm the proceedings of the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Brock at its meeting held on June 16, 2020, was read three times and passed in open Council. The Mayor and Clerk were authorized to sign the by-law on behalf of the municipality and to have same engrossed in the by-law book.

7. Adjournment

Resolution Number 8-10

MOVED by $\underline{\text{Michael Jubb}}$ and SECONDED by $\underline{\text{W.E. Ted Smith}}$ that we do now adjourn at 10:44 a.m.